According to the Wyoming Statutes Title 6. Crimes and Offenses § 6-8-401. Firearm, weapon and ammunition regulation and prohibition by state, the right to keep and bear arms is a fundamental right. The legislature affirms this right as a constitutionally protected right in every part of Wyoming.
Wyoming Firearms Law
Wyoming firearms laws operate on an “Unrestricted” and “Shall Issue” policy. Residents are legally entitled to possess a firearm without any permit. The firearm can be either concealed or open. However, non-residents must obtain a permit that Wyoming honors to conceal carry in the state.
Concealed carry permits
In Wyoming, the Attorney General issues the concealed carry permits through the local Sheriff’s office. As per the regulation, the application must be processed 90 days from the date it has been received. There are specific requirements that an applicant needs to meet to qualify for concealed carry permits.
- must be 21 years or older
- must be the resident of Wyoming for at least six months
- must be legally competent
- must demonstrate familiarity with a firearm
An individual may not be qualified to obtain the license due to various reasons. An applicant:
- must not have any physical issue that prevents the safe handling of a firearm
- must not have been enrolled in a mental institution
- must not have a history of chronically or habitually using alcoholic beverages
Legal Requirements to Tell Law Enforcement About the Firearm
As per Wyoming gun laws, an individual is under no legal obligation to tell law enforcement that they are carrying a firearm. However, the person must have a valid ID and permit at all times when carrying a concealed handgun and shall be willing to produce these documents upon demand by a police and law enforcement officer.
“No Weapons Allowed” Signs Enforced?
According to Wyoming gun laws, the “No Weapons Allowed” signs is enforceable, which means that a person possessing a firearm shall not enter private property or business with No Weapons” signs. A person who breaches the law is guilty of criminal trespass, which is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment, fine, or both.
Carrying a firearm inside a vehicle
Any individual who legally own a firearm can carry a firearm inside a vehicle, but there’s a slight difference. Wyoming residents can carry a concealed firearm inside a vehicle. Non-residents, on the other hand, must have a permit to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle. They are also allowed to carry a firearm in state parks, state and national forests, and roadside rest areas.
After understanding these Wyoming firearm laws, you’re ready for the shooting range. If you’re in South-Eastern Wyoming or Northern Colorado, get in touch with us for your pistol training course. At Gladiator Firearms, we offer concealed carry firearm classes, and an extensive shooting range to prepare you for self-defense. Call (307) 459-4595 to get started.